Images and Beauty

Source: buyerselect.com via BuyerSelect on Pinterest

I am affected by images like many people. Studies have shown that women feel depressed after reading magazines like Vogue and Glamour. I am a 49-year-old, almost plus size, black woman. To surround myself with images of young blonde skinny women is probably not the best for my self-esteem. Not that there is anything wrong with skinny 20-year-old blonde women.Β  They are just not me. On Pinterest I follow boards of grey haired women, older women, plus size women, and black women with natural hair. I can’t tell you the relief I feel when I see all those beautiful images. Images that look like me. I don’t have to aspire to be any of them. I can just be and there is nothing more beautiful than that.

2 thoughts on “Images and Beauty

  1. Comparing ourselves to others is a bad idea. I do it sometimes {and I’m a red head Mom to three boys} and everyone else does it too. Yes, even skinny 20 yr old blondes. We are beautifully and wonderfully made. Come on over to the “dark side” and follow me on Pinterest too. Not a blonde in sight (not that that’s a bad thing, of course – my Mom was a blonde) but you just make yourself at home. We’ll wallow in our 40’s together. πŸ™‚
    Loved reading your posts,
    Claire

    • I loved your comment. By the way, I love red hair! It’s one of the prettiest colors. I have fantasized about having red hair although it wouldn’t really go with my coloring! πŸ™‚ But, I am thankful for my brown (and gray) mix. Yes, we are all beautifully and wonderfully made. Amen! I will look for you on Pinterest and check out your blog some more!

I love comments!

