nutmeg in mac and cheese

Home made macaroni and cheese, with some dried...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Secret ingredient in mac and cheese: nutmeg.  OK, so maybe it’s not so secret anymore.  That’s OK.  I’m not big on secrets.  Especially with cooking.

I’m not sure who told me about this but a quick Google search will confirm that it’s not that obscure.  The nutmeg gives your mac and cheese a warm, sweetish, woody flavor.  Nutmeg is more complex than cinnamon.  Cinnamon is all sweet and cute.  Nutmeg has attitude and a little more flair.  Of course I love them both, but not in my mac and cheese.  I can’t quite imagine cinnamon there.

Give it a try.  Start with a tiny bit, like 1/8 teaspoon and see if you like it.  I think it’s best when people look at you and say “What’s in there?”  If they know it’s nutmeg, you’ve probably added too much.  🙂

 

3 thoughts on “nutmeg in mac and cheese

I love comments!

