what is an ode?

English: Scan of the poem "Anagram" ...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

An ode poem is a poem that is about one specific thing that you
think is amazing and praiseworthy. It can be
centered on an object, idea, or a person. I feel inspired to write a few odes.

The only Ode I can name is Ode on a Grecian Urn by John Keats.  I’m sure I must have read it in school.  It’s basically a love song, as all odes are.  Tributes showing fondness in poetry form.

My first will be to my sister-in-law Luisa.  Stay tuned.  🙂

By the way, I did a little research on whether it was “Ode to” or “Ode on.”  Turns out it can be both.  For example: Ode on a Grecian Urn.  Ode to Joy.

I love comments!

