grandmothers

42__grandmother_and_grandchild

Source

my grandmother was a goddess

or a saint

she was all things good

she loved me

and I loved her

plain and simple

it was no more than that

yet so much more

when she looked at me

I saw her hope and faith

the pride and promise she saw in me

she was kind and patient

her strong hands guiding mine

what a special bond

one step removed

it made her calmer, less urgent

I never understood how that sweet woman

could drive my father crazy

what did he see that I couldn’t?

the intensity between parent and child

simmers and soothes once it reaches the grandchild

that precious being that can do

no wrong

 

2 thoughts on “grandmothers

I love comments!

