Opposites attract

Friends13

Source

This is part of a memoir series on my friendship with Renee who I met in college and focuses mainly on our escapades during our late teens and early twenties. 

 

I love memories.  As I think back to my roaring twenties, one friend comes to mind: Renee.  We went on so many trips together and had so many adventures and crazy times.

What was funny about Renee and me is that from appearances only we seemed so different.  She was a true prepster: Polo and Lacoste shirts, pink and green, tennis and ski clubs.  I was the bohemian hippie: fatigues, thrift stores and vintage, beads, harem pants and wild hair.  And yet, we were so much alike: silly, talkers, lovers of life.

The funniest thing was eating.  She would be eating her hamburger, and me a vegetarian meal.  And somehow we found places to eat.

People assumed we were sisters because surely we weren’t friends.  But we were.  Sisters and friends.

I have a few short stories to share with you this first week in January.  So stay tuned…

3 thoughts on “Opposites attract

  1. Oh man, what a tease!
    I write fiction. So, as I was cruising the short stories tag, I came upon this post. You write eloquently, and I reach the last paragraph to find this is a reflection! I am intrigued. As a chemist, I always learned “like dissolves like,” but we also find through life like and unlike are great attractors.
    Following for the stories (or memories,) you really know how to hook readers!

    • Your comment really made me feel good! I love writing and reading and have always wanted to write a novel. Novels seem so hard. All that plot stuff. Short stories seem much more do-able to me. I hope you enjoy the few short stories to come. Renee and I were really hilarious together. I will check out your blog soon! Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words!

I love comments!

