Planes, Hurricanes, and Mickey Mouse

Mickey-And-Minnie

This is part of a memoir series on my friendship with Renee who I met in college and focuses mainly on our escapades during our late teens and early twenties. 

 

Renee and I took a trip to Florida.  We were in our early 20s.  I was in law school, first year.  It was February.  I had just gotten in a bad car accident.  I fell asleep at the wheel from DC to Charlottesville early one morning.  Renee too had recently had a bad car accident.  She drove up a telephone pole in her sleep.  We met in Orlando to go to Disney World.  We both had remnants of black eyes.  Quite a pair.

On our way back from Florida our plane got struck by lightning.  I feared we were maybe cursed.  It was the scariest flight I’ve ever been on.  I had looked out the window.  We were over the wing.  Our plane was going through a hurricane and I saw the wing get struck by lightning.  I promptly pulled the window shade down.  Even the flight attendants looked scared.  They were passing out food and free alcohol.  I was terrified.  Renee, on the other hand, was totally calm.  She reached into her bag and pulled out a poster size photograph of Mickey and Minnie Mouse that she bought at Disney World.  She raised it up and showed it to all on the plane, in back of us.  If anything will reassure you, maybe its a pic of Mickey and Minnie.

When the plane was steady again the pilot came on and said, “We did go through a hurricane and the plane was struck by lightning.”  But we had made it past the bad weather and all was well

I will never forget that flight, Renee and I with our matching black eyes and bad luck, the lightning, the picture of Mickey and Minnie.  Most of all I will remember how calm Renee remained.  And I realize that Renee and I are indeed lucky.

I love comments!

