Renee and my Mom

Source

This is part of a memoir series on my friendship with Renee who I met in college and focuses mainly on our escapades during our late teens and early twenties. 

Renee and my Mom have always gotten along.  Of all my friends, Renee is the most similar to my Mom.  Bourgie, a tad bit snobby, extremely social, a little status conscious, and I say this in the nicest way possible.  🙂  They both really like each other. You know how your Mom likes some of your friends better than others?  Well of course my Mom liked the friend that’s most like her.  Renee calls my Mom, Mom.  🙂

Renee and I used to say we were switched at birth because her parents were very down to earth.  Renee used to say with a bit of disdain that her parents were the kind of people who were friends with everyone and didn’t care whether you were a doctor or a janitor.  My kind of people.

But somehow Renee and I are friends and have been for 33 years.  Call it opposites attract.  Call it crazy.  Call it whatever you want, but we just work together.

 

 

 

I love comments!

