Maria De Lourdes – Cancun


This photo of Maria De Lourdes is courtesy of TripAdvisor

This is part of a memoir series on my friendship with Renee who I met in college and focuses mainly on our escapades during our late teens and early twenties. 

I’ve already shared a funny story about Renee’s and my trip to Cancun and the near drowning incident.  If a near drowning incident can really be funny.  If you want to read that you can here.

This post will be more about this trip generally and this hotel.

Renee and I traveled to Cancun with my friend Stacey when I was in law school college.  It was one of those all inclusive trips we would find cheap.  We would spend $500 and this would include airfare and hotel.  Sometimes even food.  But some of these hotels were not the best.  It was a long time ago (the late 1980s) so don’t quote me but I remember not enough towels, gaping holes in the wall to the outside, and we were on a busy highway.

My grandmother died while I was on this trip.  She came to me in a dream the night she died to tell me she had died.  When I woke up in the morning I told Renee and Stacey that my grandmother had died.  They said “it was just a dream.”  Later that day my mother called and told me my grandmother was sick and that I should come home.  I left early.  When I got home I found out my grandmother had died by the time my Mom called me.  My mother didn’t want to tell  me over the phone so she told me she was sick.

I don’t believe it was a dream.  I believe that my grandmother’s spirit actually came to me.  And she was mad too.  She said “Karyl Terese, you made me come all the way to Mexico to find you!”

That trip to Cancun is memorable for many reasons: Stacey was sick of Renee and I bickering, my grand mother died, she came to me, Renee and I almost died.  Cancun was a beautiful place and a marker in my coming of age story.

 

I love comments!

