Testimony


Source

I've wanted to write my testimony for some time. I even had a cousin 
urge me to do it. Last Sunday our priest preached about evangelization. At 
its simplest it is sharing with others what God has done in our lives. How He 
has changed us. It is saying I used to be like this and now I am like this. 

I have hesitated and procrastinated about this for several reasons. One is 
privacy and not wanting to put my business on the street. That may sound funny 
for a blogger because isn't that what we do? But you know what I mean. There are 
things I've done that I'm not proud of. Hmmmn. Pride. I should have known that 
pride was behind this. 

I also want to get it right. How do I tell my story the right way?  Gee, that 
sounds like pride too. 

I realize that I don't need to tell every detail nor do I have to get it right. 
I only need to have a pure heart and ask God to help me tell as much of my story 
as needs to be told. So here it goes. 

Before I had God in my life, there was a huge hole that made me feel alone, scared and 
unwanted. I was deeply insecure and people-pleasing. I looked for answers 
everywhere and followed many of the wrong people. I turned to destructive ways. 
I was floundering and all over the place. I was pretty unhappy but I kept a smile on my face. 

With God my life is better. It is not perfect but I feel a true sense of 
peace and am truly joyful most of the time. I have been married for 7 years to a 
kind man who loves me. I returned to the Catholic church, the church of my childhood. 
I attend Mass once to twice a week and I sing in the choir. My relationships with 
my family are better. I dress modestly. I don't always need to be the center of attention 
but I am still working on that. 

I am not afraid of dying. I know that my Lord is with me and always will be. God 
is an anchor for me through tough times and when I remember to turn to him all 
is well.  I love God and am grateful for him and my faith. 
I believe my life should be a constant and continuous testimony.  Each 
person I meet needs to hear it and the holy spirit will help me discern 
what to share and with whom. 
 
5 thoughts on “Testimony

  1. Salvation is the most wonderful event on the planet. When we confess our sin, and we are all sinners, and trust Him to be our Substitute to bear that sin and become our Saviour He will. It’s all built around what Christ has accomplished for us. It’s most life transforming because He who knew no sin became sin for us. Now that is grace and love. Good words from you this morning!!!

  2. I am so glad you are in my life. You are a witness to me of how our wonderful Father in Heaven can do marvelous deeds in our lives. I love you my dear friend!

I love comments!

