Call to dress more modestly

Source

I have a calling to dress more modestly.  I’m struggling with this a bit.  The more you reject modern wordly culture and cling to what you believe God wants, the more odd you seem.  I remember when I would see Jehovah Witnesses standing at the subway evangelizing.  I would think they were weird, afraid they would try to convert me.  Now they look like normal people.  They look to me like Christians, the women wearing long skirts.  I have changed.

But you know what, even if it isn’t easy to dress modestly, even if we do stand out and look different than everyone around us, that is okay!   We are not supposed to look like the rest of world.  Romans 12:2 says:

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.”

 

2 thoughts on “Call to dress more modestly

I love comments!

